Trying to get my shit together

Yep, I have to figure out how to get my shit together. I just can’t believe that I’m in my thirties and still don’t know what I want to do. Oh, the dreaded question, “What do you do?, blah. Technically, a bunch of stuff, but sometimes it feels like nothing. Journaling has always helped me process through thoughts but that’s not going to cut it this time. I need more. I need to make some moves. So I’m going to be open and honest and bear my soul through this blog. I’m excited to spend some time on myself and making an effort to get the things that are in my head out.

I was talking to a friend the other day about my frustration in wanting to accomplish so many things but really struggling to get them done. There are a lot of variables that come into play and I know there are solutions to overcome each hurdle. I’ve tried them here and there, but it’s time to really push it into full gear. And part of what makes me think about this a lot is that so many people I know also struggle with feeling stuck, unsure about what to do and how to do it.

How about this horse that’s not quite sure what to do and this cow laughing about it!!

a-horse-is-stuck-in-the-fence-wait-whut_o_933502

I’m actually very happy with my life and love it so much! I stay at home with my 2 1/2 year old son, I’m married to the best man out there and never have a dull moment with him. I started a nonprofit a few years ago and created and ran retreats for teen girls. I love that so much and I love event planning. I also started Jennyologie, where I funnel my love for food and health, and I love that. I love cooking. I love working out and dancing. I even became Zumba certified but never got around to choreographing a class and I’m not even sure if I want to. I just became certified in Bartending because even though it seems random, it fits my desire to interact with people and serve and be in a fun environment. I’m enjoying it so much! I also love doing admin stuff and organizing. Anyone want me to come and clean their cupboards or closet out?! Also, I love to write, and have always thought about the books I want to write. I love encouraging others and think being a life coach would be so wonderful. I started looking into being a life coach and found The Life Coach School Podcast with Brooke Castillo that changed my life and made me realize I need a life coach, I don’t need to be one right now! Ha, maybe someday :). I love women and I want to figure out how to help my fellow females feel confident and know their true worth. I love creating products and the whole process of starting something new. Isn’t it so exhausting just to hear the list of what interests me?! And all these things I really want to pursue and I know that I can’t just choose one or two because I get bored too easily. I love to multitask but I love to do so many different things that I forget about them all! Lord have mercy on me lol.

confused-meme1

My struggle with not knowing what exactly to focus on makes me think of a TED talk called “Why some of us don’t have a true calling” with Emilie Wapnick. Emilie defines the type of person with many interests and creative pursuits a Multipotentialite. Hearing what she has to say about it finally made me feel alright about how I function. Check it out, it’s such a good (and short) talk that has been so encouraging. She talks about Multipotentialites being great at Innovation, Rapid Learning and Adaptability.

Emilie says, “It is rarely a waste of time to pursue something you’re drawn to even if you end up quiting. You may apply that knowledge in a different field entirely in a way you couldn’t have anticipated. Embrace your many passions. Follow your curiosity down those rabbit holes. Explore your intersections. Embracing our inner wiring leads to a happier, more authentic life. And most importantly, Multipotentialites, the world needs us.”

So is there anyone out there that struggles with having so many interests? And if so, have you figured out how to juggle between those? Do you have any tips or tricks on squeezing the most out of the day and being extra productive? Side note, I used to get up earlier than my son if I wanted to do be productive, and that was very helpful, but now whenever I wake up he somehow knows and wakes up too! Dang dude, give your mom some time to herself lol.

Side note, I just found a great article called 9 genius ways for the busy mom to multitask.

So I’m encouraged that it’s okay to be interested in several things and I love that part of who I am. But I’m determined to leave a mark on the world and I feel a need to make more headway with my potential and ability so that when I come to the end of my life I will be able to say “I GAVE MY ALL AND IT WAS BEAUTIFUL!”

I would love to continue this conversation. Do you have any thoughts or experiences that you can share with me? I hope I hear from you! xoxo

Jenny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

